Food, Beer, and Travel

a dump from the mind of Jon Piper

De Molen Rasputin

Posted by jwpiper on February 5, 2009

It’s not often that you see Dutch craft beer outside of Holland, which is why I’m glad I took the opportunity to try at least a couple while I was in Amsterdam. When I sat down at the bar at ‘t Arendsnest Nederlands Biercafe, looking over the tap handles didn’t reveal anything familiar. And the most intriguing handle sported a text label with only one thing legible from where I sat: “Rasputin”. It had to be a Russian Imperial Stout. When I asked the bartender to recommend a big, high gravity beer, he jumped straight to the Rasputin. Sounds good to me. It was poured from the tap at about 40 degrees.
Appearance
4.5
Pours pitch black with a tall dark tan head and god head retention, especially for an 11% ABV beer.
Smell
3.5
Roasted malts and bitter coffee.
Taste
4
Tons of roasted flavors, bitter chocolate, coffee. A bit boozy at the beginning of the session, but that impression goes away.
Mouthfeel
4
Very smooth texture. Drier than expected, but very full-bodied and heavy.
Drinkability
4
The glass wasn’t tough to get through. The bitterness is there, but it complements and doesn’t overpower the very strong roasted flavors. A sipper, no doubt.
Overall
4
A pleasant surprise. Quite good, but perhaps too singly-dimensioned roasted for me.
Price
I don’t recall the price on this, but I imagine it was less than or around €4.
Leave a Reply

 
