Food, Beer, and Travel

a dump from the mind of Jon Piper

La Trappe Quadrupel

Posted by jwpiper on February 5, 2009

I’ve had and not really enjoyed La Trappe Quad in the US. From all the praise it gets and the fact that I was in the country in which it is produced, I figured I ought to give it a try. Not to mention that it was the cheapest beer on the menu at In de Wildeman. When I ordered it, I had the choice to get it from the cooler or the shelf at room temperature. I, of course, selected the latter which was about 65 degrees.
Appearance
4
A thinner looking, clear, amber quad with a tall white head after being poured from a 33cl bottle into the brewery glass.
Smell
4.5
Candied sugar, raisins, toffee, and green apples fill the nose.
Taste
4
All the smells are replicated in the flavor as well – jumping off the tongue from the get go. Just a tinge metallic. Lots of apples in the middle and heavy on the candied sugar. Also some burnt sugar from the middle through the finish. Minor bitterness in the finish for balance.
Mouthfeel
4
Smooth, but a bit thinner than I’d like in a quad. Not sticky or cloying despite the high level of sweetness.
Drinkability
4
A but to sweet and the the burnt and candied sugar flavors build more than anything else. Reminds me a bit of Gouden Carolus Noël in that way, but much more multi-faceted.
Overall
4.1
Much better than in the US. I’m actually rather impressed and will have to get this again when I’m in Belgium/Holland in the future. It is reminiscent of Westmalle Dubbel with lots of candied sugar.
Price
€3.50/33cl, I think. It was less than €4, unlike the Belgian beers on the menu which were generally €4 and up. It was the best deal on the bottle menu and very worth it at this price.
One Response to “La Trappe Quadrupel”

  1. […] my surprisingly pleasant experience with a fresh La Trappe Quad, when I saw an aged bottle at ‘t Arendsnest Nederlands Biercafe, I had to give it a try. The […]

Leave a Reply

 
